Project Views
Appreciations
87
Followers
47
Following
93
Vesper has a BFA degree in Illustration with Honors from Parsons School of Design and an MFA in Illustration as Visual Essay from School of Visual Arts, NYC. She lives near her native New York City with her husband and their two children.

For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in the Striped Pajamas comes a lushl… Read More
Vesper has a BFA degree in Illustration with Honors from Parsons School of Design and an MFA in Illustration as Visual Essay from School of Visual Arts, NYC. She lives near her native New York City with her husband and their two children.

For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in the Striped Pajamas comes a lushly illustrated novel about a teen Holocaust survivor, who must come to terms with who she is and how to rebuild her life.

"A tour de force. This powerful story of love, loss, and survival is not to be missed." --KRISTIN HANNAH, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Nightingale

After losing her family and everything she knew in the Nazi concentration camps, Gerta is finally liberated, only to find herself completely alone. Without her Papa, her music, or even her true identity, she must move past the task of surviving and onto living her life. In the displaced persons camp where she is staying, Gerta meets Lev, a fellow teen survivor who she just might be falling for, despite her feelings for someone else. With a newfound Jewish identity she never knew she had, and a return to the life of music she thought she lost forever, Gerta must choose how to build a new future.

"What the Night Sings is a bookfrom the heart, of the heart, and to the heart. Vesper Stamper's Gerta will stay with you long after you turn the last page. Her story is one of hope and redemption and life -- a blessing to the world." -- Deborah Heiligman, award-winning author of Charles and Emma and Vincent and Theo Read Less
  • Author-Illustrator
    Vesper Illustration — NY, USA
View Full Resume
BFA Illustration, with Honors, Parsons School of Design, NY, 1998
MFA Illustration as Visual Essay, School of Visual Arts, NY, 2016
Member since: